Is my Fate and Destiny Same? ….No says MKS


Contributed by M K Subramanian
This is an explanation to my comment in Refer

Fate: This is a scalor quantity. Drifting without direction . In science, example of ‘Speed’ is taken for understanding.. If I travel at a speed of 100 miles per hour you cannot predict where I will be after one hour. Why ? Because I have not indicated the direction.
Similarly if I believe in fate, although I am influenced by past actions (Karma), I am only drifting to some unknown, unknowable end. I become passive and do not know where I am heading. Hence “Fate’ is a scalor quantity.

In Newton’s first Law this is explained: ” A body in its state of rest or uniform motion in st. line continues to do so unless compelled by an external force to change that state”.

In “Karma theory” this is analugous to ‘Fate’. ”Compelled by external force” would be ‘God’s grace” or ‘Guru’s Aashirwad”!

Destiny: This is ‘vector quantity’ like ‘Velocity”. If I say I am travelling 100 miles per hour North, that would enable pointing out where I would be after one hour. Destiny is derived from the word “Destination”. That means I act with an intent to reach some specific destination. If I want to become a physician, I should work hard to get High marks in the high school examination on certain subjects.
On my becoming a physician I cannot say it was my ‘fate’, so I am a physician! But if join a commerce college and blame ‘fate’ for not becominng a physician, then it will be laughable.

So Destiny can be ‘Attained’ but ‘Fate’ can only be ‘Suffered.’

This is analuguous to 2nd law of Motion:

‘Rate of change of momentum is equal to the impressed force and takes place in the Direction of the Force’.

F = m a (Force = product of Mass and acceleration)

In Karma theory….’m’ is unfructified past actions (Karma); ‘a’ is attitude and aptitude viz. ‘Willingles to change and work to produce the necessary ‘Force’ to produce the desired result! Every one may carry past Karma (Mass) but if he wants to make a different future he must be willing to change and put in adequate efforts to overcome the ‘fate’. If ‘ a’ is ‘Zero’ Force will be Zero and we will be back to the first law.

So ‘Karm theory is not a bondage! If the past actions result in the ‘present’ – we can ‘choose’ ‘present’ actions to make a different tomorrow.
Continued…
This is a series of Articles on Hindu karma Theory by M K Subramanian. Refer [UR Here][2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10]

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Balu Bankuru
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 19:10:26

    Good one…

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Fate, Destiny, Karma, Devine Design « Cries From The Park

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 136 other followers